Home News & Events Chamber of Engineers focus on continuous development
Sunday, 16 December 2018
Chamber of Engineers focus on continuous development

coe agm 2012

The Chamber of Engineers held its Annual General Meeting on 24th February 2012. Elections were also held, and out of six nominations, three candidates, Ing. Ray Muscat, Ing. Ray Vassallo and Ing. Paul Refalo were re-elected to serve on the Chamber Council for 2012 -2014. Posts for officials were decided on 29th February during the meeting of the first Council, where Ing. Saviour Baldacchino was re-elected President of the Chamber for the third consecutive year.

During the Annual General Meeting Ing. Saviour Baldacchino stated that over the past two years, the Chamber had seen an increase in membership as well as an increase in training for engineers and related industries. Indeed, 414 individuals had benefitted from courses organised by the Chamber.

He added that the Council had also increased its efforts to improve membership benefits, as well as endeavoured to attract more engineering and ICT students. The Chamber has also increased its media presence and enhanced its communications with members through a newsletter, the website and a revamping of ‘Engineering Today’, the Chamber’s quarterly magazine.

Ing. Baldacchino also pointed out the number of events held during over the past two years, such as information meetings, social networking events, seminars and organised visits. He mentioned the Malta Engineering Excellence Awards and the Annual National Conference as yearly highlights for the Chamber.

On an international level, the Chamber also grew further, by joining the World Federation of Engineering Organisations (WFEO). Indeed, WFEO President elect Ing. Adel Al-Karafi was hosted by the Chamber during his visit to Malta and a meeting with Prime Minister Lawrence Gonzi was also held. The Chamber also continued to participate in the European Federation of National Engineering Associations (FEANI).

On his re-election as President, Ing. Baldacchino thanked his fellow Council members for their trust and support. He pledged to continue leading the Chamber in promoting the engineering profession and the importance of its contribution to society.

The 2012-2013 Executive Council is comprised as follows: Ing. Saviour Baldacchino (President), Ing. Ray Vassallo (Vice President), Ing. Ray Muscat (Secretary General), Ing. Godfrey Muscat (Treasurer), Ing. Paul Refalo (Public Relations Officer), Mr Daniel Micallef (Activites Secretary), Ing. Johann Psaila (Secretary for International Affairs), Ing. Matthew Galea (Membership Secretary), and Mr David Debono (Student Representative).

coe agm 2012


The President’s full Progress Report can be found here.


Last Updated on Friday, 02 March 2012 18:44