Home In the Press MEEA 2017 Press Release
Monday, 09 December 2019
MEEA 2017 Press Release

The Malta Engineering Excellence Awards 2017 – 12th December 2017

PRESS RELEASE: 19th December 2017

The Chamber of Engineers launched the 16th edition of the Malta Engineering Excellence Awards (MEEA) on the evening of the 12th of December 2017. The MEEAs 2017 were held under the distinguished patronage of H.E. Marie-Louise Coleiro Preca, President of Malta at the Verdala Palace. The MEEA showcased the excellence in engineering innovation and its positive impact on the Maltese society through three different awards:  The Maurice Debono Lifetime Achievement, the Industrial Excellence Awards and the Best Student Projects’ CoE Awards.

An amazing performance by the Harpist Dr Lydia Buttigieg opened the evening. An introduction to the MEEA by Chairman, Ing. Michael D’Amato and a welcome address was then presented by Ing. Norman Zammit, President, Chamber of Engineers.

The Maurice Debono Lifetime Achievement awarded was presented by her Excellency Marie-Louise Coleiro Preca to Ing. Helga Pizzuto and to Ing. Anton V. Cutajar.

Aviation Cosmetics Malta Ltd, Altern Ltd and Malta Life Sciences Park were the three nominees for the Industrial Excellence Awards. Hon. Chris Agius, Parliamentary Secretary for Planning and the Property Market presented the awards for the Industrial Excellence Awards to the winner, Malta Life Sciences Park.

The Best Student Projects’ CoE Awards were divided into 3 streams;  Mechanical Engineering,  Electrical Engineering and  Information, Communication and Technology (ICT) best project awards.

The nominated students for the Mechanical Engineering Stream were Daniel Aquilina, Marlon Attard and Daniel Farrugia. Rachel Cauchi, Jeanluc Mangion and Geraldine Mifsud were the three nominated students for the best project in the Electrical Engineering Stream. As for ICT, the nominees were Nicholas Bonello, Leander Grech and John Napier.

Hon. Chris Agius, Parliamentary Secretary presented the award to Daniel Farrugia for the Mechanical Stream, Geraldine Mifsud for the Electrical Stream and to John Napier for the ICT stream.

Dr. Ing Glenn Cassar, representing Dr. Ing. Andrew Sammut, Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Prof. Ernest Cachia, Dean, Faculty of Information, Communications & Technology at the University of Malta gave encouraging speeches about the students, Industry-Academia collaboration and the impact of engineering in society.

The evening recognised Engineering excellence in Malta and Engineering society and was closed by a reception where winners, nominees, engineers and guests were all invited to attend.

Thanks go to the volunteers at the Chamber of Engineers, the nominees, academics, engineers, guests and our corporate sponsors namely Bank of Valletta plc and Citadel Insurance together with the supporting sponsors Enemalta, Hydrolectric, Abertax, Crane Currency, Konnekt and Malta Industrial Parks.


Figure: Ing. Norman Zammit, President, Chamber of Engineers and Her Excellency Marie-Louise Coleiro Preca, President of Malta


Last Updated on Thursday, 21 December 2017 16:29